My New Whole Home Controller (Updated: Dec 2021)

Edit: I have gotten a lot of requests for my project. I cleaned it up for an example layout… enjoy.
JD_Layout_2021_1_6.hrp (1.6 MB)

First, a BIG congratulations to Bill and thank you for launching this beautiful forum for us!!

I have been using The Home Remote for a few months now so, I would consider a myself a newbie. Many folks talk about a steep learning curve with HR but I do not consider it to be difficult. When you are trying to achieve a look, an action, or style, there are many ways you can do it and simply playing with the designer, you’ll figure it out. There’s no right or wrong in how you want to create your interface. Its about creativity! Its about trial and error! Its the freedom to say “I want my controller to look and function like this” and having the ability to do it!

For myself, I wanted an interface to control my whole home. I have 4 zones for audio, 2 zones for video, almost 30 lights throughout the house, 4 temperature zones, and SmartThings/Hubitat integration. I created this interface for a 10’ tablet installed in my kitchen. My intention was to create this interface and use it for a while to work out any issues with controlling my system. Then I was going to modify it (dumb it down) to work on dedicated room controllers (7" tablets previously running idrule). I loaded the same project onto all my tablets and haven’t looked back. However, I do intend to create a more phone friendly version for my Samsung Note.

One important mission…? The wife has to understand how to use it!! :crazy_face: I have also animated my pages using lots of property actions. Some slide in from the top/bottom and some fade in. Lots I could do aesthetically but, I’m very happy where I am at.

My Home screen. I consider this to be a Dashboard where I can see status throughout the house. A lot of work but I animated the floorplan to show what lights are on (dinning rm and garage are on in this snip):